Blogging – Second Thoughts…

It seems to me…

A friend commented that I always seemed to have an opinion on just about everything.   He said it in a complimentary way (I think!).  I admitted that there definitely are more topics on which I would like to write than I have time to.  The truth is I’m an indiscriminate plagiarist – I will steal from anyone.  Picasso said:

     “Good artists copy; great artists steal”   — Pablo Picasso

I do not aspire to greatness (or consider myself to be even “good”) and definitely fall short on artistic talent but, still, all of us can learn from Picasso’s advice.

I read something in a magazine, hear a comment on TV, receive an e-mail message – it doesn’t matter – and it is off to the computer to begin still another rant.

Part of my problem is that politically, I frequently do not agree with either those on the right or the left.  President Nixon attempted to capitalize on what he termed “the silent majority”.  Belonging to that independent group of mostly silent centrists, I frequently consider myself under represented by the power brokers and elite in Washington. Prior to retirement, I like most others needing to work for a living to support ourselves and our family, was too concerned with the daily grind of simply getting by to be able to devote time expressing myself on esoteric issues that most likely would not affect me within the next ten minutes.

I also am curious about almost everything.  (This alone should be sufficient motivation for anyone knowing me or reading what I write to question my sanity.)  I also hold the academic opinion that nothing is off limits to open discussion and therefore reject the universal admonishment to avoid politics, money or religion (or sex).

No, my ideas are not more correct than anyone else’s.  In spite of the sometimes venomous aspect of some of my writing, I will not pretend to have superior insight or understanding. I write partly because I question what I’ve heard or read and am trying to reach a conclusion for myself on what I really think about that issue. If as a result of further consideration, discussion, or feedback my ideas change, I reserve the right to totally modify or reject what I originally wrote regardless of how strongly it might have been stated.

I never anticipated anyone other than a few close friends or family would ever read any of my postings so it came as a bit of a surprise to hear from people saying they subscribed to my blog.  My intent was to post a few items and ask those friends for their feedback. This has not worked out the way I had expected. Most comments, from both friends and subscribers, indicate general agreement rather than criticism. The only suggestion eliciting any critical response was regarding my suggestion for a national sales tax to support education, retraining, and research. Surprisingly, the criticism was not from those on the right objecting to any tax but from those on the left stating sales taxes were regressive and unfairly penalized that segment of our population already economically disadvantaged.

Relatively little of what I post represents something recently written.  Items usually sit, sometimes for several months, prior to being posted. Frequently, a previously written idea will be subsumed into something entirely different. Other postings are rewritten to such an extent that they bear little resemblance to the original article. There usually are about fifty unposted files backlogged at various stages of completion.

My original goal was to keep any posting to less than a single page but that has proven to be difficult. It is difficult for me to express myself with that degree of terseness (which probably is why I rarely post anything on Twitter).

While I admire those with sufficient discipline to post articles on a regular schedule, I have a life to live outside of cyberspace.  Having worked all my life, I now choose to spend what time remains unrestricted by self-imposed artificial constraints. The daily rhythm of life imposes sufficient regularity; for now that is enough. It is time to relax and smell the daisies (I’m allergic to roses).

Likewise, now that summer is almost here, I intend to spend more time outdoors enjoying the pleasant weather.  Consequently, the frequency of posting probably will decline until the end of summer forces me once again to return back inside. I normally turn to the computer in the evening following dinner. With the days being longer, tasks repeatedly postponed over the winter once again are demanding attention. So much for the cycle of daily life…

That’s what I think, what about you?

About lewbornmann

Lewis J. Bornmann has his doctorate in Computer Science. He became a volunteer for the American Red Cross following his retirement from teaching Computer Science, Mathematics, and Information Systems, at Mesa State College in Grand Junction, CO. He previously was on the staff at the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus, Stanford University, and several other universities. Dr. Bornmann has provided emergency assistance in areas devastated by hurricanes, floods, and wildfires. He has responded to emergencies on local Disaster Action Teams (DAT), assisted with Services to Armed Forces (SAF), and taught Disaster Services classes and Health & Safety classes. He and his wife, Barb, are certified operators of the American Red Cross Emergency Communications Response Vehicle (ECRV), a self-contained unit capable of providing satellite-based communications and technology-related assistance at disaster sites. He served on the governing board of a large international professional organization (ACM), was chair of a committee overseeing several hundred worldwide volunteer chapters, helped organize large international conferences, served on numerous technical committees, and presented technical papers at numerous symposiums and conferences. He has numerous Who’s Who citations for his technical and professional contributions and many years of management experience with major corporations including General Electric, Boeing, and as an independent contractor. He was a principal contributor on numerous large technology-related development projects, including having written the Systems Concepts for NASA’s largest supercomputing system at the Ames Research Center in Silicon Valley. With over 40 years of experience in scientific and commercial computer systems management and development, he worked on a wide variety of computer-related systems from small single embedded microprocessor based applications to some of the largest distributed heterogeneous supercomputing systems ever planned.
This entry was posted in Blog, Time and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

